Reading Allowed

Paper: Paging Through History (NORTON)

Friday • May 27 • 7:30pm

Town Hall Seattle, Downstairs, 1119 8th Avenue

In today's technology-dependent world of e-books and computer screens, what is the future of physical paper? In his in-depth new history, bestselling author and historian Mark Kurlansky argues that paper ...  Read more

Tickets

Saturday • May 28 • 11am

U District store

Join us at our U District store for dramatic readings of the best in new and classic kids books. You bring the kids, and we'll provide the activities and entertainment. StoryTime for Kids is appropriate for ages 3 - 7. Call 206.634.3400 for details.

 

Six-Word Lessons on Growing Up Autistic (PACELLI PUBLISHING)

Saturday • May 28 • 5pm

Bellevue Store

Today, over one percent of children in the U.S. between the ages of 3 and 17 have an autism spectrum disorder. Diagnosed with autism at the age of 5, Trevor ...  Read more

The Last Drop of Blood (AUTHORHOUSE)

Sunday • May 29 • 3pm

Bellevue Store

Based on a lawsuit against a prominent doctor that retired attorney J. Steven Funk handled in the 1970s, The Last Drop of Blood is a riveting tale of legal suspense ...  Read more

A Garden of Marvels by Ruth Kassinger (HARPERCOLLINS)

Sunday • May 29 • 4pm

Molbak's Garden + Home, 13625 NE 175th St, Woodinville

Gardeners and book lovers, join us the last Sunday of every month to discuss fiction and non-fiction books about gardening at Molbak's Garden + Home in Woodinville.

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, A Garden of Marvels intertwines personal anecdote, accessible science, and untold history in a witty and engaging story of the first botanists and today's extraordinary plants. Frustrated by plants that fail to thrive, Ruth Kassinger sets out to transform her garden by diving into the basics of botany. Along the way, she discovers a wondrous world of flowers that have sex and leaves that eat air, black petunias, photosynthesizing animals, trees that bear multiple fruits, and even plants that can text you when they're thirsty.

Book club members save 20% when you purchase this title at our Mill Creek store.

Tuesday • May 31 • 11am

U District store

Join us at our U District store for dramatic readings of the best in new and classic kids books.

You bring the kids, and we'll provide the activities and entertainment.

StoryTime for Kids is appropriate for ages 3 - 7.

 

Tuesday • May 31 • 6pm

U District store

During the Certificate in Memoir program through University of Washington's Professional and Continuing Education program, students learn about the art of storytelling and how to approach their own stories by ...  Read more

Tribe (GRAND CENTRAL)

Tuesday • May 31 • 7:30pm

Town Hall Seattle, Great Hall, 1119 8th Avenue

Upon their return from war, many veterans have a difficult time adjusting to normal life—including suffering from Post-traumatic stress disorder and struggling with suicidal thoughts. But the traumas they experienced ...  Read more

Tickets

May 2016
Su M T W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4

View May Events


Watch Our Event Videos

Join Our Email List