Reading Allowed

Wednesday • May 25 • 11am

Mill Creek store

Join us at our Mill Creek store for dramatic readings of the best in new and classic kids books. You bring the kids, and we'll provide the activities and refreshments. StoryTime for Kids is appropriate for toddler to preschool age children. Call 425.385.3530 for details.

 

The Life of Elves by Muriel Barbery (EUROPA EDITIONS)

Wednesday • May 25 • 6:30pm

Mill Creek store

Join us for discussions of the best in contemporary titles on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 6:30pm.

A poetic novel about the quest for enchantment in a world that seems to have forgotten it, Muriel Barbery's The Life of Elves tells a story of two young girls—one with a gift for communicating with nature and the other a stunning musical genius—whose talents bring them into contact with magical worlds and malevolent forces. With its cast of unforgettable characters, each fighting to preserve a sense of enchantment, The Life of Elves is a moving and deeply felt meditation on art, nature, dreams, and the role of the imagination.

Book club members save 20% when you purchase this title at our Mill Creek store.

The Sorcerer's Daughter: The Defenders of Shannara (RANDOM HOUSE)

Wednesday • May 25 • 7pm

U District store

Prolific author Terry Brooks has brought the epic world of Shannara to life in over two dozen bestselling novels. This spring, Brooks gives us yet another action-packed adventure in The ...  Read more

You May Also Like: Taste in an Age of Endless Choice (KNOPF)

Wednesday • May 25 • 7:30pm

Town Hall Seattle, Downstairs, 1119 8th Avenue

Microsoft or Apple? Blue or red? Chocolate or Vanilla? In a world of endless choices, our preferences have become a part of our identity. But why is it that we ...  Read more

Tickets

Shrill: Notes from a Loud Woman (HACHETTE)

Wednesday • May 25 • 7:30pm

Town Hall Seattle, 1119 8th Avenue

Finding your voice in a popular culture that is hostile towards women is not easy—especially in a digital age rife with online persecution. But two years ago, when Seattle writer ...  Read more

Tickets

Thursday • May 26 • 11am

Bellevue Store

Join us at our Bellevue store for dramatic readings of the best in new and classic kids books.

You bring the kids, and we'll provide the activities and refreshments.

StoryTime for Kids is appropriate for ages 3 – 7.

 

26 Songs in 30 Days (SASQUATCH)

Thursday • May 26 • 7:30pm

Nordstrom Recital Hall Benaroya Hall

In May of 1941, folk music icon Woody Guthrie was commissioned by the federal government to write the music for a film about the Columbia River. During that month, he ...  Read more

Tickets

Paper: Paging Through History (NORTON)

Friday • May 27 • 7:30pm

Town Hall Seattle, Downstairs, 1119 8th Avenue

In today's technology-dependent world of e-books and computer screens, what is the future of physical paper? In his in-depth new history, bestselling author and historian Mark Kurlansky argues that paper ...  Read more

Tickets

Saturday • May 28 • 11am

U District store

Join us at our U District store for dramatic readings of the best in new and classic kids books. You bring the kids, and we'll provide the activities and entertainment. StoryTime for Kids is appropriate for ages 3 - 7. Call 206.634.3400 for details.

 

Six-Word Lessons on Growing Up Autistic (PACELLI PUBLISHING)

Saturday • May 28 • 5pm

Bellevue Store

Today, over one percent of children in the U.S. between the ages of 3 and 17 have an autism spectrum disorder. Diagnosed with autism at the age of 5, Trevor ...  Read more

The Last Drop of Blood (AUTHORHOUSE)

Sunday • May 29 • 3pm

Bellevue Store

Based on a lawsuit against a prominent doctor that retired attorney J. Steven Funk handled in the 1970s, The Last Drop of Blood is a riveting tale of legal suspense ...  Read more

A Garden of Marvels by Ruth Kassinger (HARPERCOLLINS)

Sunday • May 29 • 4pm

Molbak's Garden + Home, 13625 NE 175th St, Woodinville

Gardeners and book lovers, join us the last Sunday of every month to discuss fiction and non-fiction books about gardening at Molbak's Garden + Home in Woodinville.

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, A Garden of Marvels intertwines personal anecdote, accessible science, and untold history in a witty and engaging story of the first botanists and today's extraordinary plants. Frustrated by plants that fail to thrive, Ruth Kassinger sets out to transform her garden by diving into the basics of botany. Along the way, she discovers a wondrous world of flowers that have sex and leaves that eat air, black petunias, photosynthesizing animals, trees that bear multiple fruits, and even plants that can text you when they're thirsty.

Book club members save 20% when you purchase this title at our Mill Creek store.

Tuesday • May 31 • 11am

U District store

Join us at our U District store for dramatic readings of the best in new and classic kids books.

You bring the kids, and we'll provide the activities and entertainment.

StoryTime for Kids is appropriate for ages 3 - 7.

 

Tuesday • May 31 • 6pm

U District store

During the Certificate in Memoir program through University of Washington's Professional and Continuing Education program, students learn about the art of storytelling and how to approach their own stories by ...  Read more

Tribe (GRAND CENTRAL)

Tuesday • May 31 • 7:30pm

Town Hall Seattle, Great Hall, 1119 8th Avenue

Upon their return from war, many veterans have a difficult time adjusting to normal life—including suffering from Post-traumatic stress disorder and struggling with suicidal thoughts. But the traumas they experienced ...  Read more

Tickets

May 2016
Su M T W Th F Sa
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4

View May Events


Watch Our Event Videos

Join Our Email List